A password-protected directory is a folder that can't be accessed unless the correct login details are provided. This could be a whole Internet site or only a single page that is located within a subfolder. If you attempt to open such a directory, you shall see a browser pop-up in which you will have to type in a username as well as a password. If you enter the appropriate ones, you'll be able to continue surfing around the content without having to do anything extra. If the login credentials are not right, however, you shall see information that you are not permitted to look at the content. In case this function is enabled, you won't be able to open a file even when you have a direct link. The option is quite practical if you wish to prohibit the access to some content or if you are developing a website and you don't want visitors to be able to access it before it is ready.

Password Protected Directories in Web Hosting

All our web hosting plans include a very convenient tool that'll enable you to protect any folder inside your account from unauthorized access with just 2 clicks. When you log in to your Hepsia web hosting CP, you will only have to visit the Password Protection section, to pick the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder that should be secured - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to enter the username and the password that have to be used in order to access the content in question. The function will be turned on right away, so in case you try to open the folder/website, you'll be prompted to enter the login details. You could set up or remove a number of usernames for the exact same folder, if needed. When you go to the File Manager section, all password-protected folders will be shown with a compact padlock icon.